Metairie Music Club

About the Metairie Music Club


To make Music an integral part of the civic, industrial, educational and vocational life of our nation.

To encourage and advance American creative musical art and to promote American artists.

To uphold high musical standards, and through education and organization, make America the music center of the world.

Federation Collect

We praise and thank Thee, Father, for the gift of music.  Through us, as channels of Thy grace, may this blessed legacy be shared with all mankind. Grant that we may exemplify in our own lives the harmony of thy great purpose for us.  Give us magnitude of soul and such understanding hearts that we, who make music, may be as players upon rightly tuned instruments responding to Thy leading.  Let us with renewed consecration dedicate ourselves to the purpose of our Federation, to bring the spiritualizing force of music to the inner life of our nation.  Open our minds that Divine knowledge and wisdom may teach us how best to execute our pledge.

Formation History

During the Summer of 1964, numerous meetings were held by a group of ladies from the Metairie area who were all interested in the formation of a music club in their immediate vicinity.  Assisting the group towards this end was Nina Stackpole, who at the time was chairman of the New Orleans District of the Louisiana Federation of Music Clubs.  Out of these meetings, the Metairie Senior Music Club was formed. Formal organization of the club is stated as taking place on September 25, 1964.  In those days, the Club met on the second Wednesday of each month, September through May, 10:30 A.M.

Charter Members

  • Iris Arena
  • Kathryne Creamer
  • Ronnie Dykhuisen
  • Voncyle Henderson
  • Eleanor Heuer
  • Kitty Houser
  • Betty Hubert
  • Sue Kimbrel
  • Dale LeMaire
  • Marion Meibaum
  • Martha Murphy
  • Barbara Nester
  • Ruth Pignotti
  • Mary Lou Pope
  • Charlotte Sebastian
  • Betty Siladie
  • Evelyn Smith
  • Sherrill Vonosdol

Past Presidents

  • Ruth Moore 1964-1965
  • Kitty Houser 1965-67
  • Iris Arena 1967-70
  • Diana Cangemi 1970-72
  • Barbara Kerrigan 1972-73
  • Laris Compton 1973-75
  • Sue Kimbrel 1975-77
  • Olive Craighead 1977-79
  • Kathy Kappel 1979-81
  • Joy Harvey 1981-83
  • Pat Babcock 1983-87
  • Margaret Norton 1987-89
  • Patsy Padgett 1989-91
  • Sally Fischer 1991-93
  • Melanie Perez 1993-95
  • Nancy Carollo 1995-97
  • Bonnie Knowles 1997-99
  • Barbara Nester 1999-2001
  • Margarita Harvey 2001-2003
  • Iris Villarrubia 2003-2005
  • Jill Adoue 2005-2007
  • Irene Vile 2007-2009
  • Bonnie Knowles 2009-2011
  • LoAnn Menzel 2011-2013
  • Margarita Harvey 2013-2015

Members Serving in National, State and District Capacities

Melanie Perez NFMC Board Member Representing Louisiana, NFMC Young Artist Presentation Chairman,  LFMC Finance Committee, LFMC Competitions and Awards Division Chairman, LFMC Junior Convention Committee, LFMC Website Chairman, LFMC Nominating Committee
Joy Harvey
LFMC Second Vice President, LFMC Junior Convention Committee, LFMC Nominating Committee
Irene Vile
LFMC Finance Committee, LFMC Junior Division Chairman, LFMC Junior Convention Chairman, LFMC Cometitions and Awards Committee, LFMC Nominating Committee, LFMC Festival Committee
Kim Harvey
LFMC Treasurer, LFMC Finance Division Chairman
Jeri Landry
NFMC Music in Poetry Southeastern Region Chairman
Margarita Harvey NFMC Music in Poetry Chairman, LFMC Competitions and Awards Committee
Jill Adoue LFMC Competitions and Awards Committee
Bonnie Knowles
NFMC Festivals Bulletin Vocal Advisor, LFMC Junior Convention Committee
Mark Vile
LFMC Parliamentarian, LFMC Junior Convention Committee, LFMC Festivals Technology Chairman, LFMC Festival Committee